A Japanese hanging scroll by Kouya Ikawa1879-1968
Painted in colour on silk with silk mount
Depicting a  cliff in the early morning mist
Signed Kouya with his seals, (1879-1968)
Soiled, some light spots and the mount got small repair
Picture size 41.5cm x 57cm including box





This is the scroll that we managed to find before we restored it

Unrei Satomi-1890. 1849-1928. Born in  HIROSHIMA. His teachers were Tariei Nakai and Nisho Yamagata. Most of his art works were lost by the atomic-bomb. This was therefore a very rare example of his surviving work .This unique scroll has now been fully restored with box. £295 Bone ends

Terashima Kiyoshi painted circa 1904 with box £165

Ippo- Mountain Pines 1900 82x24 with box £195


BAIRYO 1911Sansui ga 24.3 x73.6

Bairyo, This scroll is interesting, because the theme is summer but the painting was painted around early winter, I assume the artist felt cold and wanted to evoke the heat of summer to keep the artist warm ( in a sense).

Written Title on the scroll is as follows: Ryoku in Jiki Kadouryou or The self is content under the shade of green during summer in the cool hut. c. 1911 around October ( lunar calendar) at the artist's studio.-

     a wonderful scroll in superb condition. Exceptional scroll silks. With Box £225

Blue Green Landscape

The title is written on the original box in the artist Hyakuseki's hand:

Image of a blue green landscape painted by myself in the year 1923

A unique and very rare scroll from a great artist 74x17 £325


Autumn Landscape Sansui Ga. With multiple waterfalls this intensely detailed and extremely elegant painting shows an almost deign quality in the artists brush. . A constantly dropping landscape you come down the main falls in teh background and just keep going down the scene. Such movement is hard to achieve other than from a great artist. This painting is of the waterfall known as Akiu Waterfall (Akiu Otaki [秋保大滝]) 70x23.5

With Box £190

Sanka Yamagoya Sanmyaku

Saigyo’s Mountain Hut 78x19.4 £175

Nanko painted this scroll in 1819. Somewhere along the line the mountings had been removed. We worked hard on this one as it was an outstanding example of the artists work.
( The silk mounts are grey and not blue.)

This stunning landscape scroll has now been fully restored. The rising sun over the mountains, deep pine forest and rushing waterfall all add to the vibrancy and movement of this wonderful painting. The Jiku -scroll ends, are made from bone. I had this black on black pattern antique Kimono Silk which we made into a beautiful box. £195

Haruki Nanko (1759-1839)

Nanko had become popular as a painter during the1830s he had become equal to one of the reigning artists at that time,Tani Bunchô (1763-1840) who was also a friend . It had taken Nanko some time to gain recognition in Edo. The reason for this was his many years travelling to study Southern Chinese painting. However, in the course of his travels he gained many students. When he returned to Edo he introduced this Southern painting style where all Nanga painters in Edo still worked in the Northern style. His son Nammei, (Haruki Nammei 1795-1878) was still developing his own style at the time during this rise in popularity of his father but he became well known in his own right.



Interesting water colour painting saying " a view from a driveway from the eastern view of the lake from Mt. Hiei. 
 Painted by Tokiya (Tokikazu) with box £180

From around the top of Hiei-zan, you can enjoy a panoramic view not only of the Lake Biwa-ko and Kyoto, but also that of Suzuka and Tanba Mountains.

Mount Hiei (比叡山 Hiei-zan) is a mountain to the northeast of Kyoto, lying on the border between the Kyoto and Shiga prefectures, Japan. For much of Japanese history, Mt. Hiei has been off-limits to women.

The temple of Enryaku-ji, the first Japanese outpost of Tendai sect of Buddhism, was founded atop Mount Hiei by Saichō in 788. Both Nichiren and Honen studied at the temple before leaving to start their own practices. The temple complex was razed by Oda Nobunaga in 1571 to quell the rising power of the Tendai's warrior monks (sōhei), but it was rebuilt and remains the Tendai headquarters to this day.

Hiei-zan is a generic name for a south-to-north chain of mountains lying over Sakyo-ku, Kyoto and Otsu, Shiga, with Mt. Shimei-ga-dake and Mt. Ohiei-ga-dake in the middle. There stands Enryaku-ji Temple, head temple of the Tendai-shu sect, opened in 785 by Saicho who founded the sect. The temple area is dotted with more than 100 buildings and towers, including the Konpon-chudo, a national treasure, a large lecture hall, and Shaka-do, all shaded by a forest of old Japanese cedar trees. Because the mountains have been regarded as a Buddhist sacred place, where destruction of animal life is forbidden, now you can see a variety of birds there.

The Konpon-chudo is the main sanctuary of Hiei-zan Enryaku-ji Temple, listed as World Cultural Heritage, in which ever-lasting lights of Buddhism have burned continually ever since the foundation of the temple. They light the image of Yakushi-nyorai to whom the temple is sacred. You can experience a taste of monks' discipline in Kojirin, a practice hall.